Wrexham announce 11 players are to be released

    Wrexham have chosen to announce that 11 of their players are set to be released in the summer as they start to prepared for next season.

    It comes after the club finished a dismal 19th place in the National League table, which was decided by points-per-game due to the coronavirus pandemic.

    Wrexham AFC said: Today’s announcement comes at a time of uncertainty for football. A return to football at National League level would be very difficult under the current restrictions, but it is hoped that those restrictions can be lifted over the coming weeks and enable us to make a go-forward plan.

    We have continued to have conversations with the National League and Government Officials to highlight the importance of returning to football for the business, and we will keep supporters updated as soon as we get more certainty on next steps.

    It is on the back of this uncertain outlook that we are providing an update on the squad for season 2020/21. This is slightly different from the traditional retained list, in that the club is not yet in a position to offer new contracts.

    NFL Betting

    Eleven players will be released and a further five players’ loan spells have ended.

    A total of seven players are already under contract for next season, and we can confirm a further five players whom the club intend to open discussions with when we have a certainty on football returning.

    Wrexham AFC would like to place on record its thanks to the players who are leaving us for their efforts and commitment during their time at the Racecourse, and for their sacrifice during the furlough period. We wish them well for their future careers.

    The following players are contracted for the 2020-21 season:
    Shaun Pearson
    Luke Young
    Bobby Grant
    Rob Lainton
    Devonte Redmond
    Jay Harris
    Daniel Jarvis

    Players who we would open discussions with when we have certainty on Football returning:
    James Jennings
    Mark Carrington
    Paul Rutherford
    Davis Keillor-Dunn
    Christian Dibble

    Players to be released:
    Jake Lawlor
    Akil Wright
    Luke Summerfield
    Jazzi Barnum-Bobb
    Jason Oswell
    Doug Tharme
    Leighton McIntosh
    JJ Hooper
    Matthew Sargent
    Jack Thorn
    Dawid Szczepaniak

    The following players’ loan spells at Wrexham AFC have ended:
    Kieran Kennedy
    Jordan Ponticelli
    Jordon Thompson
    Kyle Barker
    Tyler Garratt

    Fans as well as footballers gave their reaction after Wrexham announce 11 players are to be released…

    Source link news

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Betting on Soccer

    Share article

    Latest articles

    Medeama gaffer Samuel Boadu insists new signing Abass Mohammed will be key for club

    Medeama SC head coach, Samuel Boadu has noted that new signing Abass Mohammed will be key for the team in the upcoming football season.  The...

    Brazil physio accidentally reveals what match Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson will return for

    Brazil’s international physio has accidentally let it slip when Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson will be returning to full fitness after suffering a shoulder injury. Brazil’s medical-man...
    Betting on Soccer


    Subscribe to stay updated.

    Get all the Soccers update on your hand. Always touch with Soccer