Winners list from 2020 Non League Paper Awards

    The winners list from Non League Paper’s 2020 National Game Awards has been revealed after fans were allowed to vote in the last few weeks.

    With the 2019/20 season over for all but sixteen playoff teams, now is a fitting time to hold what turned out to be a virtual version of the awards.

    The National Game awards are held at the end of every season and whilst the usual ceremony couldn’t take place in the capital, the awards have been held online instead.

    Barrow boss Ian Evatt has been awarded the Manager Of The Year Award, whilst Bluebirds skipper John Rooney has picked up the National League Player Of The Year Award.

    Evatt has been the key to their incredible rise, he was appointed shortly after the Cumbrian side survived an epic relegation battle in the 2017/18 season. The following season saw them finish 10th, and then the current campaign saw them lead the National League since November 2019, with promotion back to the Football League confirmed last week.

    NFL Betting

    John Rooney has been influential to the side, with Barrow summing him up to ‘unlocking opposition defenses and chipping in with a hugely impressive 20 goals from midfield this term’.

    The player crowned National League North Player of the Year is King’s Lynn Town’s Adam Marriott. The division’s top scorer netted a total of 28 goals, helping the club win promotion to the top tier of non league football.

    Tom Smith was named National League South Player of the Year in the 2019/20 National Game Awards.

    Manager Jerry Gill said: “It’s a credit to Tom himself for this award due to his professional mindset in wanting to improve week in week out. It’s a case of player/manager/philosophy all connecting that has brought out the best in Tom.

    “He feels at home at Bath City FC and plays with a freedom. We hope he will be able to continue his fine form, along with the rest of the squad, in the playoffs.”

    FC United of Manchester’s Tunde Owolabi has been named the Northern Premier League Player of the Year, after an incredible season where he scored 36 times and finished as the top scorer in the top 7 divisions of English football.

    Cray Wanderers’ Joe Taylor
    won the Isthmian Premier Division Player of the Year after picking up the Players Player, Managers Player and Golden Boot awards with 26 goals this term.

    Truro City striker Tyler Harvey has been named the Southern League Premier South Player of the Year, after an incredible season where he scored 19 times and finished as the league’s top goal scorer.

    Dion Sembie-Ferris won the Southern League Premier Central Player of the Season award, having scored 17 goals in the league this campaign.

    Marine’s Niall Cummins was named the NPL Step 4 Player of the Year, here are all of his goals from this season.

    Whitehawk forward Lucas Rodrigues won the Buildbase Isthmian Step 4 Player of the Year Award.

    He is the Hawks’ most successful product of the youth system finishing as their joint highest goalscorer in the Isthmian South East division finishing on 12 goals, three of which just 23 minutes in their famous comeback at Three Bridges last year, whilst also chipping in with 14 assists. The club’s fans and players also named him as their Player of the Season.

    Halesowen Town were awarded Non League Paper National Game Cup Run of the Year Winners – currently in the FA Trophy semi finals – and their club captain Paul McCone won Southern League Step 4 Player of the Year.

    Maldon & Tiptree’s Jorome Slew won the 2019/20 Goal of the Season award for his magnificent solo effort against Leyton Orient in the FA Cup.

    Southern Counties East Premier Division side Chatham Town have been named the Community Club of the Year.

    They have called to check on fans, collecting or delivering food, running errands, focusing on mental health or holding fitness classes during the tough times of the coronavirus pandemic.

    Now that you have seen the winners list from the 2020 Non League Paper’s National Game Awards, do you agree with them or feel a particular player/goal/manager missed out?

    Let us know by commenting over on our Facebook page HERE.

    Like what the Fan Banter have on offer? Sign up for more notifications!

    Source link news

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Betting on Soccer

    Share article

    Latest articles

    Inter win 2023/24 Serie A title

    Inter secured the 2023/24 Serie A title after defeating local rivals AC Milan at San Siro on Monday night.Francesco Acerbi's 18th-minute header set the...

    Inter Milan seal Scudetto in derby thriller with AC Milan

    Inter Milan sealed the Serie A title on Monday after beating AC Milan 2-1 and creating an unassailable lead at the top of the...

    Forest call for PGMOL to release VAR audio in Everton defeat

    Apr 22, 2024, 10:38 AM ETNottingham Forest have written to refereeing body PGMOL to request the release of the VAR audio from Sunday's 2-0...

    Inter Milan Clinch 20th Serie A Title with Milan Derby Win

    Inter Milan, the iconic Italian football club, has once again etched their name in the annals of Serie A history, clinching their 20th league...
    Betting on Soccer


    Subscribe to stay updated.