Chelsea duo battling with Liverpool, Man Utd stars for top FIFA award

    Chelsea duo N’Golo Kante and Jorginho will battle it out with Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe for The Best FIFA Men’s Player award for 2021.

    The Blues have also had no fewer than four players – Magdalena Eriksson, Pernille Harder, Ji So-yun and Sam Kerr – shortlisted for the women’s award, while men’s boss Thomas Tuchel and women’s counterpart Emma Hayes have been nominated for the coaching awards.

    France’s World Cup-winning midfielder Kante and Jorginho, a member of the Italy team which beat England in the Euro 2020 final, will compete with Ronaldo, Messi and Mbappe, as well as Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne, Real Madrid star Karim Benzema, Bayern Munich hot-shot Robert Lewandowski, Paris St Germain’s Neymar, Borussia Dortmund’s rising star Erling Haaland and Liverpool’s Egypt international Mohamed Salah.

    The Chelsea Women quartet also find themselves in good company alongside England and Manchester City pair Ellen White and Lucy Bronze, Arsenal striker Vivianne Miedema, Barcelona’s Aitana Bonmati, Caroline Graham Hansen, Jennifer Hermoso and Alexia Putellas, as well as Stina Blackstenius of BK Hacken and Portland Thorns’ Christine Sinclair.

    The men’s coaching award will be contested by Tuchel, Manchester City counterpart Pep Guardiola, new Tottenham boss Antonio Conte, Italy’s Roberto Mancini, Germany’s Hansi Flick, Diego Simeone and Lionel Scaloni.

    Hayes has been shortlisted for the women’s prize along with England boss Sarina Wiegman, Lluis Cortes, Peter Gerhardsson and Beverly Priestman.

    NFL Betting

    Pochettino now clear favourite to take over at a desperate Manchester United

    Alisson shortlisted for keeper award

    Two expert panels – one each for the men’s and women’s games – have also identified candidates for the best goalkeeper awards, with Alisson Becker, Edouard Mendy and Kasper Schmeichel flying the flag for the Premier League along with Italy star Gianluigi Donnarumma and Germany’s Manuel Neuer, while Chelsea’s Ann-Katrin Berger will go head-to-head with Christiane Endler, Stephanie Labbe, Hedvig Lindahl and Alyssa Naeher.

    The nominees for the FIFA Puskas Award, given for the best goal, will be announced at a later date.

    A public vote is now open on and will remain so until December 10, and three finalists in each category will be announced in January. The winners will be revealed at an online ceremony on January 17.

    READ MORE: Serie A star opens up on career ‘dream’ amid Chelsea, Man City, Tottenham rumours

    Source link news

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Betting on Soccer

    Share article

    Latest articles

    Eric Bailly confirms Ralf Rangnick Man Utd appointment is imminent

    Eric Bailly has revealed that the Manchester United squad has been informed of the imminent arrival of interim manager Ralf Rangnick.United have been on...

    Chelsea fans take aim at two players after disappointing Man United stalemate

    By Conor Laird Published: November 28, 2021 6:31 pm Last Updated: November 28, 2021 6:39 pm   Chelsea’s supporters have taken to social media in their numbers...

    Major U-turn sees Newcastle on pole for January signing of Brazil ace

    A report in Spain claims Philippe Coutinho is now open to joining Newcastle United after no change to his situation at Barcelona. The Magpies are...

    The best free agents to sign on Football Manager 2022

    One of the first things you should do on any Football Manager save is check the free agents pool, and FM22 is no different.Finding...
    Betting on Soccer


    Subscribe to stay updated.